6/3/2014

To get through this I have to lie to all of us. 

The truth is my heart is so broken that if acknowledged

I would falter under life’s pressure so instead I will polish the holes in the bottom of my shoes. Take pride in the rope holding my pants at my waist. Remember there are depressions great than my own. Keep smiling through the disaster that I have without your added spices.

Figure out how to get out of my own rut and find a job and keep this eviction at bay. Figure out why the court system doesn’t see our intentions. Figuring out how to pay this fine that looks good on all of us. Wishing I won’t be lonely when I go to court tomorrow. I know no one is going to show up. Last month, no one showed up. I’ve never felt lovely the way I’ve written of until that day. Life imitating art right in my face.

This is not a poem.

To get through this I have to lie to all of us.

The truth is my heart is so broken that if acknowledged. I wouldn’t be able to polish the holes in my shoes. Take pride in the rope holding my pants at my waist. Keep remembering that right now the only obstacle I have to face is today. 

-Shadel

6/3/2014

Leave a Reply

